Chimney Liner Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

noviceinsertuser

Dec 30, 2008
Southern Maine
Someone please talk me down from the ledge...trying to figure out this woodstove has consumed my life. I have it going around 400 degrees and can only raise the room it is located in by about 4 degrees. I know there has been postings about block off plates and, although they most likely help with efficiency, I feel something else is wrong. As I was walking the dogs this morning, I analyzed the chimney liner. I have no knowledge to this stuff so forgive me for my questions, but should the plate on the liner be sealed to the masonry of the chimney? Please check out the pictures. It was my understanding that the chimney is capped and therefore a block off plate wasn't an absolute necessity. I paid $500 to have this done and it looks like a pretty crappy job, if you ask me. Any help is so greatly appreciated. I have called the dealer multiple times to only be ignored. Next step is to go straight to Hearthstone. Also, I can feel heat through the walls along the chimney. I was upstairs in my bedroom closet and the wall was warm to the touch...wouldn't this indicate heat loss through the chimney?

Thanks!

By the way, I have a Hearthstone Morgan insert

Attachments

• IMG_1114.JPG
    IMG_1114.JPG
    96.5 KB · Views: 401
Hey, noviceinsertuser,