Cleaning a liner on an Old Timer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

NorthEastSteve

Oct 27, 2020
PA
hello everyone,

new here so not sure if I'm posting this in the right area. Just bought a home this spring with a wood stove insert, never had wood stove insert before so I'm a bit of a rookie.....I have a few questions and will try to give you as much info as I can. I'm sorry if i don't use the right terminology. Any input is appreciated.

Not sure of exact model or # but shows "old timer" on bottom left corner. Confirmed it has a stainless steel 6 inch liner. Wood stove is on second floor as liner cant be that long. See pics.

1. Wonder what the best method for cleaning liner? I read about nylon brushes, vs wire brushes, heard wire can cause damage to liner? This true? Any suggestions?

2. There is a clean out door at the bottom of the chimney on the outside 1st floor, it was full of ash, but I think this may be from the fireplace that use to be used, before the insert was installed? Any input? I don't see anywhere in the wood stove for ash to drop out so it appears to be a sealed wood stove.

3. If there is no clean out for the wood stove insert, how often should you clean out the ash in the stove? Only when needed?