Combustor looks like it isn't working - why?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

MCC

Apr 20, 2022
ARGYLE, WISCONSIN
Hello,

I'm new to this Princess 32 and have been burning it for a few months now. All was going well and it was behaving the same as I have read on here in the shoulder season up until the last couple of weeks perhaps. I've been burning Red Elm and Ash, both of which test between 14 to 20 percent moisture. The last few weeks have been really cold and I was running it a lot harder than before. What I started noticing is more smoke out the chimney. Today I did not leave my house and noticed it smoking pretty much all day. I reloaded it with 4 splits(half load) and went into my shop. My wife called me 40 minutes later and says she had turned the stove down to 3:30 on the temp control and about 10 minutes later, she saw a flame rise up to the top, heard a puff, looked and saw smoke come out of the stove someplace. I immediately looked at the chimney and it was emitting smoke like it has been all day(we are above freezing). I checked the door gasket and the dollar bill test was good. I reloaded it full, ran it up to max temp for 30 minutes, the cat probe went to the max end of the white and I could see the combustor lightly glowing, backed the throttle off to 3 oclock. The cat gauge dropped within 30 minutes to just barely in the active zone, the cat is no longer glowing and there is plenty of smoke coming out the chimney.