Comfort Built Hp22

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Strick5

Dec 20, 2016
Greensboro,NC
Anyone have any experience with the Comfort built Hp22? This is my first time using a pellet stove. I don't think it is running as efficient as it should. I'm going through 2 bags a day. It's in my basement now and I have around 1600 sgft upstairs to heat. Any help would be great. Pm me anytime.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Welcome to the forum! What pellets are you using? Do you have an Outside Air Kit (OAK) hooked up? Is the basement insulated? Is it a shallow basement ... how much of the outside walls are exposed? Walls/floors would have to be heated up first. What temps are you getting in the basement? Heat may not contribute much to the upstairs ... Layout of the basement and stairs location?

You may just be asking too much from the stove... It is stated that it heats 1200 sq. ft (45,000 BTUs +/- max) which is bigger than the upstairs and it is located in the basement (judging basement is the same size). Should think about a second stove upstairs if you are using the stove as a primary heat source.

I'm using Greenway from tractor supply. No Oak hook up. Basement is about 7foot talk. One side of the basement is exposed. There is no insulation on the ceiling of the basement. It heats the upstairs just fine, as long as I leave the door open. I'm new to all this. Does this sound normal?

Feed rate maxes out at 5.5 lbs/hr ... 80 lbs (2 bags) at max rate (5.5) would be 14.5 hours. Seems you are idling along at the mid burn rate so not so bad.