Connecting Selkirk double wall pipe to single wall existing pipe?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

stoveliker

Minister of Fire
Nov 17, 2019
Long Island NY
Pardon my possible lack of appropriate terminology - (still) a newbie here.

After having had some fun with a (very) old (and decrepit) DutchWest FA264CCL, I have (per advice from here) upgraded to a new BK Chinook 30.
As I bought this (new in crate!) from Craigslist, I got a few Selkirk double wall pieces. However, as the old stove only had single wall piping, I have a single wall piece of pipe going (horizontally) through a wall, and the thimble (?) there obviously does not fit around the larger OD of a double wall pipe.

So, after going out and up from the BK with a 2 ft double wall section, and through a "4 times 45 deg" double wall elbow (both Selkirk), how do I connect to the horizontal (single wall) pipe going through the wall?

(I note that I am not very concerned about draft (yet?) as I'm coming from the basement, and the brick+SS liner chimney goes all the way up past the main floor, past the second floor and the attic - suggesting I should have enough pull there to handle a 2.5 ft single wall section without too much hassle. At least the 15 ft + 2 ft (elbows) + 3 ft (horizontal) = 20 ft is less than what I have vertically outside - if you think this may cause trouble, pls let me know.)

Basement installs can be iffy for draft but with that kind of height you should have plenty of draw, even for a 30. ;)

Whoa, what kinda deal did you get on that!??

All I can say is: a very good one. Someone bought it, didn't like it, and never unpacked it.