Considering a stove install in an 1860's farmhouse

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Summer40

Oct 31, 2022
Massachusetts
Hi all! I'm new to the wood stove world and appreciate all the advice I can gather! We're in an old new england farmouse, and hoping to finally use the kitchen flu hookup from what I believe is the original kitchen cook stove. There is a brick panel with flu access (currently behind some hanging art). The previous owners had a pellet stove there but without the correct chimney liner. We're considering either updating the liner and hooking up the pellet stove again, or swapping out for a wood burning stove. I love the idea of a wood stove but in that case I am unsure where to start, there seem to be so many factors! It wouldn't be our only heat source but would be supplementing to hopefully get our oil use down significantly. We would want something with low clearances to get as close to the wall as possible as it is in a main area of the house, and is rather close to our kitchen seating, about 6 ft. I'm also wondering if there are good options that wouldn't need us to build a hearth over the tile, but could just use a non-combustible pad? Do you think this space is too tight for a wood stove, and we should stick with pellets? I definitely feel like I don't even know what I don't know right now. Thank you for any pointers!

IMG_2773.JPG IMG_2774.JPG IMG_2775.JPG

Yes, it looks like a woodstove could work there. Look at the Jotul F45 and Pacific Energy T5.

Is the floor ceramic tile? If so, that will suffice for stoves the require an ember protection only hearth.