Country stove question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trucklet

Oct 26, 2015
western wa
I'm a newbie to hearth.com and apologize in advance if this is an inappropriate thread for this post. I've heated with wood all of my life until building a well-insulated house in 1992 which has all natural gas heat--I sorely miss having a real wood fire! This thread is the closest I can find for my query--I'm just beginning my search for a non-cat EPA certified freestanding wood stove. I live near Seattle; my house was built to exceed all insulation specs at the time--I rarely use my natural gas furnace and rely mostly on gas log fireplaces, but have space in my great room (approx 1000 sq ft with 15' vaulted ceiling at the center) for whatever free-standing stove I choose. If it's too large for this space, I can open French doors and/or turn on the furnace fan to circulate excess heat to the rest of the house (which usually stays very cool in the winter; we wear layers of clothing and do just fine). I have unlimited access to firewood, as I live on wooded acreage and have a chainsaw and a hydraulic splitter. I found a Lennox Country S16 for sale locally--new-in-box, never used. I have been unable to find ANY specs (will, of course check all mfgr labeling etc when I check it out). This forum seems to be the place to learn if this is a good stove in general and one that would match my needs in particular. If so, what is a fair price for this unit (unsure what its age might be and whether Ironstrike would be providing a warranty). Thanks in advance!