Creosote 101 and Other 1st Year Thinkings (w/PICS)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

delp

Jan 6, 2009
pittsburgh, pa
I did a search for "creosote" and read them all but still feel like I need to ask:

This is my first year/shoulder. Running an Englander 13, flex liner about 35+', no rain cap as I've got real old clay chimney pots, liner comes up to about 20" (so I've been told} of the top of the pot; pot sits on brick chimney that's about 5' tall. The whole thing has pour in perlite insulation.

Wood I'm burning has been sitting stacked since last Feb or so and the MC says it's anywhere from 9-17% moisture on fresh split face, mixed batch of woods cherry, locust, elm and a little oak. I got this stuff cheap off several CL posts as soon as I learned that lining the chimney was a go; the biggest haul was gray and had checked/cracked ends. ...I know, it doesn't really mean much unless I know, for sure, that it's been s/s for a year+, but this is the best I could do. I am planning on buying a cord of kiln dried from a reputable dealer as winter sets in and leaving the other wood to sit for the next season.