Creosote build up

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

guudbears

Jan 24, 2012
Hudson Valley, NY
I’m not new to heating my house with a wood burning stove, I’ve been running an Olympic Crest since 1978. Recently we completely remodeled our home which necessitated reinstalling the stove. The old installation had a shorter straight run of pipe which worked well though in hindsight was not in the best spot where it exited out of the roof resulting in some water running down the pipe in heavy rain. The new installation was done professionally and there is no problem with water. However I am finding that I’ve got more creosote build up now having to clean the pipe/stove three times a year rather than once. The new pipe takes an ”S” curve both inside the house (un-insulated pipe) and in the attic (insulated pipe). Could this be the cause of more creosote? Also I’ve been using the stove a lot more as I’m now working from home. My wood is well seasoned, though recently I’ve reached the bottom of an old pile and some of it might have picked up some ground moisture--to offset t his I leave the wood around the stove while it is hot to dry it out some. Also what does everybody think of the “Sooteater” system for cleaning the stove pipe? I’m not sure my local chimney sweep is doing so great a job and at $150.00 a shot I think I can do better and save some money. For thirty plus years I’ve used a standard wire brush and fiberglass rod system but with a taller/steeper roof and my aging bones I no longer want to make the trip to the roof top. Anyway a long winded way of asking for some a