Creosote Problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mattaddington

Dec 18, 2008
SE MN
www.mattaddington.com
Aside from having a woodstove when I was a kid, I am a newbie to this. We just moved into a home with two Vermont Casting wood stoves.

I got up on the roof and cleaned both flues this fall and burned a CSL log in each. My first fire worked fine, but the second one filled the house with smoke after a little bit. After cooling, I took the stovepipe off to find the entry filled with a bubbly like crusty residue. I cleaned this out, got a great updraft and tried again. After about 45 minutes of good, hot fire, the same thing happened.

Anyone have any suggestions? Is this some sort of liquid creasote residue that runs back down the flue and bubbles up and cools at the 90 degree joint?

Thanks for any help! It's been below zero here all week and I would love to be heating the house a little!!

matt

I inserted a couple photos here for you to check out.
3119336176_39c3cc8ec3.jpg

3119336166_0508a8935c.jpg

Oh my goodness ...you have to go back to square 1. Hook up with a wood burning neighbor that has some years of burning under their belt and ask for advice. Sorry to be so short.

Burn only seasoned wood but hotter around 550*...and forget about long burns.

I'd say you have a huge safety hazard there. If it were me, I'd stop burning and not light again until I had a complete understanding of the problem and cleaned and did a thorough inspection of that chimney.
Here are the questions you will be getting, so get the answers ready:

1. Chimney - inside or outside?