Creosote Questions...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Happy Stacker

Jan 6, 2018
SW Ontario, Canada
This is my first year burning with an EPA tube stove, and today I decided to do a spring cleaning. I have burnt with an old smoke dragon for years so I am well aware of burning properly seasoned wood, hot start ups and avoiding low smouldering fires. Never had an issue with any major creosote buildup until now.

So this season I have burned about 3 cords of well seasoned wood. I pulled my stove pipe connection from the collar and when I looked inside the stove I was amazed by the amount of creosote sitting on top of the baffle. 8 cups of the stuff. And this is before the chimney has been swept.

So I took a pic looking up the chimney and it really didn't look that bad to me, but then again I have never looked up the chimney before cleaning in the past. I'm curious as to any thoughts on the cause of this. We had a colder than normal winter and I am wondering if the top of the chimney was just colder than normal causing the creosote to form. Then with hot wide open burning when starting up and reloading this creosote was falling down the chimney and landing on the stoves baffle plate. I would also mention I rarely close the damper to less than the 1/4 open position when looking for extended burn times.

20180501_161032small.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Maybe the wood was not as seasoned as thought? The other possibility is too cool flue temps. What is the flue system setup on this stove from stove to chimney top?

Last edited: