custom rear heat shield for classic Jotul 602

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Uncle Stu

Nov 10, 2015
Central Coast, CA
hello, newbie here.

I've heated my hi-ceiling non-insulated one-room addition (mild climate) for 17 years with my classic 602, and I love that old box. I've browsed a zillion threads here and learned a LOT about how to treat my old reliable Jotul with respect. Unfortunately, I read them now... after the damage is done. The other day, I cracked the back of it with my first fire of the season. Ouch!

I'm planning to rebuild the stove, and replace the back, which I've already located online. Internal heat shields (warped) were replaced a few years ago. Would love to add an internal custom-made heat shield for the back as well, to protect it from idiots like me. I found Begreen's thread about using Zircar RS-1200 for this purpose.

1. Do I have to drill holes in my pretty new back plate and bolt it on--or is there another way to attach or wedge it in there? Has anyone tried wedging a plate in behind the side heat shields? that looks like it just might work.

2. does anyone know where I might order a sheet of Zircar RS-1200?

thanks in advance.

Looks like my side plates are both fracked too... I've replaced them once, a few years back. I wish now I had been a bit more careful.

Attachments

• 12242225_10206153495848760_886987708_n.jpg
    12242225_10206153495848760_886987708_n.jpg
    113.8 KB · Views: 500