dirt on my smoke shelf

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

grisbrad

Feb 8, 2015
Oregon
let's start with I am a novice, I have a fireplace that was built in 1920 it has never had a cap on the chimney. it had a wood insert, when i bought the house 23 yrs ago, it was just piped into the chimney, not up the chimney, I removed that and installed a pellet stove, I am now wanting to go back to just a fireplace. while cleaning it I am pulling near a foot of what appears to be fine dirt out of the smoke shelf. was it common to place dirt as the floor of smoke shelf,
or is this what old ash would turn in to? or is this the result ninety years of no cap on the chimney

Welcome. The accumulation on the smoke shelf could be an indication of lazy chimney sweeping. As the chimney is swept a fine black and brown powder showers down the chimney. Some of it falls and accumulates on the smoke shelf. It should be vacuumed out after cleaning.

No they wouldn't have put a foot of dirt on the smoke shelf. Indeed, the smoke shelf needs to be flat, or maybe even a little concave, in order to do its job of preventing smoke from flowing down into the fire box.
That stuff collected over the years. Soot and ash, might be some bird crap in there.

I am interested in a 90 year old fireplace. Are the bricks in the firebox still in good shape? Is the chimney still in good shape?
I wish you would post some pics of the fire box.