Do wind caps work?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

vatmark

Burning Hunk
Jan 5, 2017
Nebo NC
Does anyone have a wind chimney cap and found it helped? We have a Jotul F500. We wanted to have a fire tonight but we are having strong wind gusts and it was blowing smoke back down the chimney and we were getting wisps of smoke coming out of the stove. My house smells like smoke now. The winds blow in from the north and that is the side of the house where our chimney is. We had to put the fire out. I'm hoping if we get a wind cap that will help. Anyone have experience with this?

I’m not a chimney pro, but I would think that once the fire has been established, windy conditions should not be causing smoke in the house. The 2 times I had that happen were upon startup and then on reloading. Pros with good experience will chime in to help more though. How are you starting the fires?

I’m not a chimney pro, but I would think that once the fire has been established, windy conditions should not be causing smoke in the house. The 2 times I had that happen were upon startup and then on reloading. Pros with good experience will chime in to help more though. How are you starting the fires?