Does this help??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bbc557ci

Dec 25, 2007
Central NY State
Just a prelude ..... I installed a PE Alderlea T6 last January. This is my 1st wood stove and I'm a newb at heating with wood.

Now, when I was a kid we had a pot belly stove in the kitchen and a fire place in the living room. Stove in the kitchen always seemed to be going during the winter. Every now and then my father would load it up and crank the bajeebers out of it. I remember him commenting to my older brother that he did that to "burn the creasote out of the chimney"..... his words.

So, when I load my T6 and start'r up, I let the stove pipe get up to 600-650 degrees, and let it burn like that for 15-20 minutes, or until the load of wood is REALLY well charred. I must be doing something right because when I had the chimney cleaned about one month ago, the sweep got about 2-3 cups of crap / creostoe out of it. Chimney is about 12 feet of black single wall inside, and about 10 feet of double wall SS above roof level.

Question is... does getting the chimney really hot, litterally burn away accumulated creosote ??

Thanks

Sounds like you're doing it just right. You are preventing a thick creosote accumulation from building up. I try to start off a new fire hot, pretty much like you do, though my temps with softwood are more like 500-600 in the flue. After that I don't worry too much about it.

Burning dry wood is better than worrying about creosote.

My dad did the same thing- almost to the point of an intentional chimney fire. Burn clean and it's not an issue.