Enviro Kodiak 1700 Insert Problems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mschuenke

Dec 10, 2009
Biddeford, Maine
I just had an Enviro Kodiak 1700 insert installed yesterday. I'm wondering if it was installed properly (the service from the store has been HORRIBLE). However, before throwing the installer under the bus, I want to make sure I'm doing things correctly. On the stove's maiden voyage I had two problems:

1) If I closed the door, the fire went out. I was using dry, seasoned hardwood, and the air control (damper) was open all the way. I'm new at this, but it seems that the insert isn't getting enough oxygen.

2) The fan doesn't seem to work. I turned the fan to manual (override) and opened the rheostat all the way. It sounds like the fan is turning, but I can't feel air coming out.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

UPDATE -

The fan problem ended up being from a metal plate that had been fastened over the fan outflow. Once I removed that plate, the fan seems to be working fine. My new question is this - why was there a plate over the fan outflow? Does is come from the factory that way (perhaps to protect the fan from damage)? Is it supposed to block cold drafts when the insert isn't in use (unlikely, since I don't feel a draft)? Is this an installer error? I just can't comprehend why someone would put the plate there.

Thanks

#1 problem sounds like wet wood if this new installation was done properly.