Extracting heat from wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeThePipe

Dec 14, 2011
Rockies
Ok well I seem to be batting two for two on closed threads so let me start again...

Hi!
Im new to the forum and I want to burn wood to make heat. I am an engineer (software, so all that bootleg stuff you have is the reasin I cant afford a $2000 wood burning stove) but nevermind, cos I enjoy creating things and looking at problems in a new way. So, I have a fireplace. Its a very nice fireplace and I can plumb air to the front og it without any difficulty. It has nice glass sliding doors that do a fine job of making a reall cool looking fire that sends all its heat up the chinmney (about 2% thermally efficient)

So my first idea was a fireplace insert, but what if I change my mind as I want to do? Im stuck with a minimum $100 loss. So my second idea was a craigs list pre EPA. After looking for two months I concluded people are just listing junk. So next idea was a nast cheap Chineese made boxwood. For $130, how can you go wrong? Well this evening my forum welcoming comitted wasted no time in pointeing that out.

So I am going back to my basic needs. Burning wood, extracting heat. Hmmmmm.

Then I saw this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccGcVHVB3eg&feature=related

Perhaps what I should do is just bend up some steel/copper pipe into a grate and and mount it in the flames. Then throttle the fire with the air intake (very doable) and use a house fan with a car radiator in a cabinet.