f3cb vs. f100 for a weekender

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hpeairs

Sep 14, 2009
Central MA
Was thinking about an f400 for 24/7 use, but I am new to stoves so I have decided that for now I just want to play with the stove on weekends for a couple of years and see how it goes. So:

Heating the family room on weekends. The room's a little over 300sf with cathedral ceilings, avg height 12ft. There are two doors leading to the rest of the house but the family room is tacked on the end of the house (and is on its own FHW zone). Well insulated and newish construction but the west wall is mostly windows all the way up. The stove will go in a corner and the pipe will go straight up till it hits the ceiling 9 or 10 ft up, then outside for another maybe 7-8 feet (to get 2 ft over the ridge). I don't really have any other siting options. I live in central MA.

I have a fireplace in another room and in that I weekend-burn a mix of bought wood and wood that I cut on the property. I'm thinking I'll eventually just burn my own wood in the stove, so I don't mind cutting shorter lengths. Right now I have a nice pile of black locust cut this spring and aging for 2010.

I see that the F3CB has two air controls vs. one for the other Jotuls, and it also has an ash pan and optional open door viewing. Not sure I'd ever view open door but maybe. F3CB is slightly larger than the F100. However, I like the looks of the F100 a little better.