Filling up with coals

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dagoof

Apr 6, 2015
Eastern Idaho
I'm new to this game, and we we installed a new Enviro Venice 1700 with hopes that it would be big enough to heat most of our house and run overnight, but when I run it continuously, it basically fills with coals until you almost can't get any more wood in there.

Any tips for how I should be handling things differently?

The coals burn down to ash if you leave them for a couple of days, but I'd prefer to keep a hot fire going so the house doesn't cool off.

Is my stove just too small? Do I just need to clean out ashes / coals more often to make room for more wood?

Also,
I was hoping to be able to have it burn strong for 8-10 hours overnight, but that seems to be longer than it will go. I'm wondering if I have too much draft being in the basement.

Excessive coaling is a sign of wet wood or too little air or both. Some coaling is inevitable, use some kindling or small splits to burn them down and get some heat. With a good amount of air add 3-4 small pcs of kindling or a couple small splits and you will burn down coals in 45-min to an hour or so.

Agreed. This doesn't sound like too much draft. It sounds like partially seasoned wood or weak draft. When was the wood cut, split and stacked? Does the fire burn hotter if you open a nearby window a little?

Put a 2x4 cut off or two on top of the big coal bed and open the air to 50 or 100%. Let the coal bed burn down for an hour or so, then reload.

D : ) All of the above.

First culprit is wet wood, count down from there.