Finally, first fire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

danham

Burning Hunk
Jan 12, 2012
Cape Cod, MA
A nice installation job and now I'm starting my break-in fires.
IMG_2909.jpg

Here's the block-off. See-through fireplaces have their issues, but it comes in handy for monitoring stack temps.

IMG_2910.jpg

Welcome to the fold. I'm in my 3rd year of burning and this website is a gem when it comes to a knowledge base, opinions and guidance.

As you learn your stove, you will find the "stickies" on the top of the page to help you in working through any issues you may come across as as a wood burner. Read these while you watch your stove perform is a nice way of learning in a very comfortable setting.

After three years, I finally came around to the fact that "top-down" fire starting really works! These helpful documents such as "how to start a fire" will guide you in running your stove as best as you can...

Three things I come away from reading countless posts on these forums.

1) Dry wood (a moisture meter is needed) is absolutely critical if you want nearly hassle-free starting/burning. Sure your Grandpa's "Oldtimey 1880" worked back in the day with sopping wet wood, but to gain the efficiencies the EPA requires, dry wood is critical. I have lived through wet wood and God willing, never again. If you have wet wood, look for "Bio Bricks" (compressed sawdust logs) found at Menards, TSC, etc. that you can buy to get some dry wood in the firebox.