Fire Brick for old stove. Is it worth it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Trevor M

Jan 18, 2020
Ontario, Canada
Hey guys Im new to wood burning and this forum. We have an old Ashley stove that we think is from the 1970's. There are no bricks in this stove. It has a double wall, steel inside and lighter steel case outside. Is it worth it to put bricks inside? What are the advantages? What type of brick would I use? Its a fairly spacious stove meaning we can fit pretty fair size logs in it and dont think we would lose too much space with the bricks lining the walls.

Thoughts?

Even though the stove may be designed not to use firebricks, I would want to use them to at least protect the floor.

They reflect heat back into the firebox creating a cleaner burn from higher firebox temperatures. They prevent intense heat from sides staying warmer longer as fire dies. The first fire will be drying any moisture they contain, so the btu used goes up the stack in the form of steam until dry. Then you will notice a big difference. They are 1 1/4” thick. If you have a masonry supply store nearby, that is the cheapest place to find them for as low as 1.50 each. Some call them “splits” being half the thickness of a full size brick. They cut easily by scoring with a masonry blade or cut off wheel and snap. Always burn on an inch of ash as well over brick. You can also protect the bottom with sand instead of brick. You should be allowing plenty of ash to remain in your stove without any bottom protection.