Fire burning procedures: Add one log at a time or many? How much do I close the draft and when?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dwsj12

Sep 1, 2008
WI
I imagine my questions may seem somewhat primary, but I am new to this and imagine I could learn a great bit in a short time from the seasoned burners in this forum. I have a new wood insert and have questions on how to best make a fire and keep it going.

I have no problem getting it started, it is just what to do from there. First, regarding the addition of wood, is it best to add one log at a time or add a load of 3 or 4 logs as needed. Second, regarding the draft, how much should I close it and when? For example, after the fire gets going do I close the draft almost completely or do I leave it halfway? How long do I leave it open when I am just starting the fire? Should I open it when adding logs?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Don't mess with it any more than necessary. Get a good bed of coals glowing and load her up.
Give the new load some air to get going good. When it has taken well, lower the air some (1/2 ?). Check it in a few minutes.
If it has leveled off you may be good to go until there's nothing but coals again. If it's still ripping, cut it back some more until you find the
happy cruising speed that will allow a long burn without smoldering and making creosote.
Your splits and how they're stoked will have as much influence on this as your stove setup. A tight pack of thick wood can take a bit more air