Fireplace shovel caught fire... advice?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Raven172

Nov 9, 2019
New Hampshire
Pretty much what the title says. I was moving coals around and banking a fire (newly learned skill for me, I'm pretty new to owning a wood stove) and the black paint coating on the fireplace shovel I have caught fire. Pretty nasty toxic smell to it too.

Has this happened to anyone else? Any advice? I looked around for a straight stainless steel fireplace shovel and they don't seem to really exist. I found some short coal shovels, but nothing like the one I hang with the rest of my fireplace tools.

Thanks for any help!

That's happened to me before. I'm pretty sure it's just the paint on the shovel burning off...similar to how a new stove gives off that chemical smell the first few burns. It'll eventually stop. When mine did that I just put it outside on the front steps for a bit and let it cool off.

I had the same thing happen on my ash bucket. Nice black, with lid and small shovel. Well, that was too small as the hairs on my arm burned off. So I took the long shovel, scooped ashes out, but they were hot and still contained some glowing coals that had been buried.
Put them in the bin, and after a minute (while trying to separate ashes and coals in the stove), I started smelling something. The paint on the bucket was smoking and blistering...

The only positive thing here was that I sure as heck did not forget to put the hot ashes outside on the driveway (CO risk!)...