Fireworks In The Pot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Typ0

Feeling the Heat
Dec 18, 2014
Central New York
This is my first year burning my wood is dirty and high moisture. I split some and got readings from 22 - 28 on splits from different pieces of wood.

Sometimes I stir the pot and it's like sparklers being lit with sparks going everywhere. Is this because of the dirt going into my firebox? I bang the wood outside to get some off but know there is dirt going in there ...

Some wood does this naturally every time it's stirred. Locust, hedge and mulberry come to mind, but I'm sure others do it too.

Many bark also sparks a lot. Even if the wood itself doesn't, the bark may.

Last time it sparked I had the air down really low and then I opened the door and poked at the wood.

When I first read the thread title I wasn't sure if this was for a pellet stove or my in-laws after they tried our super-hot pickled peppers.

Last edited:
Oak can spark a bit as well...

So i just was pushing the coals with a rake and something popped and an ember went flying through the air and bounced off a 2x4 from some framing i havent finished yet. I didnt even see where it landed i had to duck so it didnt hit me and turned just to see it bouncing off the 2x4. Now im afraid to go to sleep for fear something is going to smolder with this missing hot ass thing who knows where. Not great with distances but this thing travelled a good 4 feet before careening off the framing and it was still glowing when it hit. Shouldnt i be bummed about this?