Froling pump short cycling

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Caiden

Jan 22, 2022
Maine
Hello,
I have a question for fellow Froling users. I have a Froling S3 Turbo 50 with two 300 gallon storage tanks. I have been running it for about 3 months and love the system. I do have a concern that has been addressed with the supplier. When the boiler is in "Off" mode and the boiler is 4 degrees higher than the top buffer tank temp the circ pump starts. When the tank temp is 3 degrees lower than the boiler the pumps turns off. This temperature fluctuates often boiler up or tank down 1 degree causing the pump to continually cycle on and off sometimes several time per minute. This does not seem to be good for the pump. Shouldn't there be a buffer when the pump cycles on it should remain on for a certain amount of time? Has anyone experienced this issue? If so is there a fix? If not a fix does anyone agree with the supplier that this is "the nature of the beast". Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Hello,