Front, secondary tube action ??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HDRock

Minister of Fire
Oct 25, 2012
Grand Blanc, Mi
When I first get er crankin , starting or reloading , I get a lot of secondary action on the front tube (3 tubes in my Lopi ) once I dial it down, not much from the front tube but the back 2 roll along good, Is this normal ??
I have some ideas but, If so Why ??
fire box is 18" square , I load N/S , splits are 16 to 17"

I'm new to EPA stoves. Started burning ours this week. I will have to watch for that. I think mine rolls more in the front, but I see it all over. It's very nice to watch the stove in action.

Interesting, mine seem to be fairly spred out between the three tubes in the Osburn.

can be effected by wood type, dryness, load size, air intake, etc... As long as it is working it is working. I am guessing with larger loads and/or drier wood you will have all three cranking for a while. Some loads work a little different than others and moisture content has a lot to do with it.

I will say: "What a difference a year makes!" I was asking last season why my 2yr ash left so much coaling at the tail end of a burn cycle. Dennis told me to hold on - it will get even better next year. He was not lying!! With three yr ash in the 15-18% range it burns hotter and leaves just powder in the AM.