Frost around collar-the thaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

SammyBwood

Jan 23, 2023
Birchwood WI
In Northern Wisconsin. We get a lot of subzero temps and the collar where our pipe exits the house gets frosted up.
We have a Vermont Casting Encore in the basement, outside corner of the house. It vents horizontally thru a studded wall (below is a concrete knee wall) to a chase. This is a new build (now 4 yrs old) and I was willing to sacrifice space upstairs to vent it straight up, but our builder and the fireplace installer determined this set up was best. I'm no expert which is why I'm asking the question...We get a lot of frost around the collar in subzero temps. Of course that thaws and I can see drips forming at the edge of the square trim piece. I keep a towel on the ledge at the top of the knee wall so it doesn't pool up, but I can't help but worry what is going on inside the wall. I've asked around but can't get any good answers and am often told "it's the nature of the beast".

Is it an install issue? Can something be done to fix this? Or do we have to put up with it? I try to use the fireplace as much as possible to keep the frost from forming, but there are times we just can't. Our humidity in the house is at 45% and until this winter, we haven't had to run the dehumidifier since building in 2018.

20230123_120221.jpg 20230123_125056.jpg 20230123_125115.jpg 20230123_125135.jpg

Last edited:
Your installer was incorrect, you were absolutely right.

Can you post a picture of two of the outdoor side including details of sealing?

Looks like you have a little snow there.