Gas furnace blowing cold air?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bfunk13

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Sep 11, 2008
Wyoming
I woke this morning to our furnace blowing cold air.
We burn the stove for most of our heat, but in the early morning the furnace kicks on a few times on cold mornings.
Here is the problem, the furnace is in the attic and i am a BIG boy. I don't think i can get up there and work.
It is only 4 years old and like i said only gets used a few hours a day in the winter.
Thermostat or thermocouple bad? I am no expert but, from what i know the fan should not turn on until the thermocouple says it's up to temp.
Any suggestions on what to look for? What and how to test? I may be paranoid, but i don't trust many service guys to do the right thing for the right price and
i don't know any HVAC guys here.

Thanks for any help!

Any storms/power outages/surges lately? Is your T stat a battery operated unit? My boiler T stat goes bonkers when the batteries get low and plays all sorts of games with my furnace blower. Also my relay for the boiler side (water/air heat exchanger) sometimes get stuck and a slight tunk will free it up so it could just be the relay in your furnace that is acting up and not shutting off when the T stat opens the circuit.

+1 if thats not it is on to the pilot light/igniter switch.

No storms or outages, it is battery powered and i will try that first.
This was almost a deal breaker when we bought this house, the furnace in the attic.
Thanks for the replies.