Green or not?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Sounds too good to be true. Not being an expert, I believe that nuclear power is the only reasonable solution out there to dependence on fossil fuels. Making it safe, portable and compact seems like an obvious next step in the development of nuclear power.
A quick google search didn't turn up any blatant arguments against this. Maybe somebody else can find some?

25 MWatts from a box that's "1.5m across x 2.5m in height" with "no moving parts" sounds suspect, but that's just the engineer in me ...

timfromohio said:
25 MWatts from a box that's "1.5m across x 2.5m in height" with "no moving parts" sounds suspect, but that's just the engineer in me ...

I think I remember reading a story about this or something like it not too long ago.....an alternate reactor design having something to do with fuel pellets encapsulated in control media and that sealed in a big drum........but that just provides the heat I think, not the turbines or anything else necessary to turn that into electricity.

spur0701 - that sounds more realistic. Still, one would think that with all of the hardware necessary to control a nuclear fission reaction it would be difficult to maintain a steady-state reaction with just coated pellets?