Harman Combustion Blower Replaced - Stove wont stay lit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

chop888

Feb 28, 2017
medway
Hello guys,
So this is my first time posting and looking to get some insight before I proceed further. Girlfriends pellet stove started making a louder sound when running. I looked at the blowers and it was the combustion motor making the noise. Bearing issue. She has an older Harmon P61 manual ignite. I looked up the motor and I purchased one model 3-21-08639 and also a blower fan 3-20-502221. Both are for the P61. No problem replacing it tested it and seemed to function fine but didn't ignite it due to it was 70 outside. She started it the other day and I seemed to work great but somewhere in the night flame went out. Same the next night also. I will have to go over and look at it some more but she reports back that the blower is running and there is pellets in the hopper.

Is there any issue with replacing this motor that might cause a problem. Could it not be compatible with a older model P61? Maybe there could be another issue but that was the only thing I replaced and it was working before the replacement.

I am aware I may have not have given out enough information I will report back more once I get over there and look at the stove. Just wanted to know if anyone else has had issue with the replacement. Thanks

I would rule out simple components first ... deep clean stove and venting, dollar bill test and replace door/ash pan/hopper gaskets (as appropriate), clean up ESP probe, check vacuum switch/line/port. Any blink codes? I am sure other Harman owners will chime in...