Heating 2000 sq/f split-level

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

4dimad

Jul 4, 2008
MA
Hi, I am new to the “alternative heat”, so pardon my ignorance. I have a split-level house (aprox. 2000 sq feet). My living room and 3 bedrooms are upstairs. I also have a family room with fireplace, office and my wife’s day care (formerly 2 cars garage) downstairs in a walkout basement. So I would need to heat the upstairs level mostly at night and downstairs during the day. Kids are not going to have direct access to the fireplace, so I thought I should buy a fireplace insert to heat a lower level during the day (I really want to be able to keep the fireplace for the wood) and smaller pellets stove for the upstairs. I am okay with maintenance and feeding of the stoves. The house is currently heated by the oil and the room with furnace backs up to the fireplace. I have 2 zones downstairs and worst case scenario, when I am unable to load the stove, my wife can use the existing system. Would the stove heat the lower level since the fireplace is in a separate room? What can you recommend? I attached a picture of the basement (sorry, it’s not pretty). Thank you!

Attachments

• basement-copy-1.jpg
    basement-copy-1.jpg
    24.8 KB · Views: 315