Hello all New wood stove owner here and had a few questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RKMHD

Feb 11, 2015
Maryland
I've been reading through all the sticky's about draft issues etc etc. I am new at wood stoves. We purchased our house with a wood stove in the basement. Its a single story rambler with a basement. We have double wall SS pipe outside, and double wall black pipe inside. The stove is a Jotul F600. We can fire it and control it through the lever in the front. We noticed drafting issues. Starting was worst mostly because its a cold stove and no heat is going up the chimney. However, once it is heated and running pretty well I still notice a little roll out when I open the doors to put in more logs. I do open the air and crack the door to let the air go into the firebox before I completely open the door. So I started reading and doing things to help the issue. First was installing a fresh air kit. This did help a little, but I still have issues. I also noticed that my horizontal run seems kind of long probably a little better than 3' before the 90 elbow down to the the stove. I put a level on it and it does have a slight rake downward towards the stove. The outside pipe is probably around 20+ feet tall. I ll have to measure it all out for you guys. Please let me know what you think.

When was the last time the venting system cleaned, right from the stove to the chimney cap...especially the horizontal, tee area and cap? also what species of wood are you burning and how long has it been cut and split?