Help identify this Fisher stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Maddenfantasy

Nov 17, 2023
Flemingsburg ky
Hi all, I’ve struggled for years to identify the exact stove I have. When I bought it, I was told it was a poppa bear, but I’m very unsure of this. I done some research in the past but this was years ago. I’ve been building my own home for 6 years now it’s time to get my fisher stove put in. But I’m being held up by not knowing what Fisher I have as I need new fire bricks. I’d appreciate any help, this page is fantastic! Thanks

6B2F6E18-BCD5-4E18-A5CC-513A04314A27.jpeg 3C71BE8F-9752-40ED-AD8A-CE87534F9068.jpeg AC0FAD4C-1712-4D7E-AFFF-EDDFFC356E67.jpeg

Grandpa Bear I.

Papa is the largest single door stove of the Bear Series.

The Fisher home page has a sticky section at top. Starting with the Everything Fisher thread will identify any Fisher Stove. Then progress to the Fireplace Series details thread for your model.

Start here;

Firebrick replacement is dirty, but not difficult. Draw the direction of the bottom bricks from original installation.

Cracked bricks are fine, missing pieces or missing bricks need to be replaced.

Remove all bricks and clean thoroughly. I vacuum and wipe with a damp rag to remove every trace of every crumb. It needs to be perfectly clean with nothing in between bricks when installing them.

Start at left rear corner with full bricks installed across back. Tilt to fit under the brick retainers at top. Cut the last one at right rear corner if necessary. Score with masonry blade in circular saw and snap easily. They are softer and cut easier than regular red brick.