Help identify this wood.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

RedRider16

Nov 22, 2022
Washington
I need help identify this wood, I can’t tell the difference between anything since I have no knowledge of wood. I’m curious as to what it is tho cause it’s heavy dense wood and is good for throwing in for a all night burn before bed. If I could find out what it is maybe I can find out where to get more. I can’t remember where I came across this, I picked most of the wood I’m burning this year up two years ago. Any help is greatly appreciated starting tomorrow I’m headed out and about finding and cutting firewood. I have a great spot for free birch wood for now till I drop and chop the 10 remaining trees, I’m keeping my head on a swivel tho cause free wood isn’t easy to come by around here.

Thanks in advance.

931AE450-E051-415C-A60F-7B31920CDFC2.jpeg 3DD3B53C-18C3-4BDA-B299-E3A6C0F12BA2.jpeg A26A6164-B610-4CBE-AB36-596792B64785.jpeg 5CB88AEE-62FA-4241-93AD-B12A9952E9F7.jpeg 33F27D23-BB0D-4267-BFAA-2B3E7BA7120F.jpeg

Looks like very dense wood and based on the bottom two pics may be locust based on the bark? Locust has been in the past a popular tree for cities to plant as it can take a lot of abuse.

Here is a pic of locust bark.

8BC210C4-9330-4283-A772-684A798E906B.png

BL. This in Washington State? When burning it stinks.