Help ! Installation Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

newbie0923

Hearth Supporter
Dec 6, 2006
Newbie here...

I've been waiting for this day for a long time....finally had the Jotul Allegash Gas stove installed today. When I got the call from the installer that he was almost complete, I hurried home to see, and enjoy, the fireplace at long last.

Yikes!

I am venting the stove vertically straight through the ceiling, and rather than the vent meeting the ceiling flush, there is a large black box surrounding where the vent meets the ceiling.

Is this normal ? Could the vent not have been made flush with the ceiling itself ? Could this black box, if required, not have been installed between the ceiling joists above the drywall ?

When I questioned the installer, he said that is simply the way they do it. But I'm not buying it. Looks terrible. I'm hoping I can confirm that this could have been installed a lot "cleaner".

Please take a look at the attached picture, and let me know if I'm simply off the mark. I have not made final payment, and they seem like very nice people, but before I call them again tomorrow I thought I would get a little smarter on the topic.

Thanks for your help !!

Attachments

• DSCN2837-vlq.jpg
    DSCN2837-vlq.jpg
    68.9 KB · Views: 379
  • DSCN2838-3.jpg
    DSCN2838-3.jpg
    32.4 KB · Views: 351
It looks fine to me.
Would you rather have the
pipe jammed into the drywall so it could
burn the paper and violale the install
codes?