Help with a new stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

morganp107

Oct 30, 2018
Peru, NY
Hi There Folks,

I am in the market for a new stove and weighing my options. The previous dealer I have used in my area now only carries Regency products. They used to carry a wider line of brands, but now only sell Regency. I have no experience with this brand, and I am curious if others have had positive experiences, especially with the newer stoves post 2020.

Additionally, there is another dealer in the area that carries Hearthstone and Lopi products. At this point, I am trying to decide on catalytic vs. non-catalytic stoves, and I am limited to a degree by space. The stove can't be taller than 30" and needs to have a depth of less than 22" ideally to minimize modifications to the existing area (the stove sits inside a large fireplace). I am open to stoves with greater depth if needed, but the height is more difficult to change in this space.

I am open to ideas and suggestions. Thank you all for your help, this page has been a helpful resource throughout the years.

I recently bought an Osburn 2500 non-catalytic wood stove and I LOVE it. It burns very efficiently and meets the tax credit standards. I am glad I chose non-catalytic...the maintenance and expensive replacement of the catalytic feature was not ok with me. With the supply shortage of catalytic components , I could see the writing on the wall. Osburn stoves are made in Canada but there are many reps in the U.S. It is an excellent company, with many sizes and styles of non-catalytic high efficiency stoves.
Hi There Folks,