HELP!!!!!!!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Newboileruser

Dec 11, 2019
Ohio
Hi I'm not sure what boiler I have all I know is its my first time ever heating using a boiler. Problem is that my fire isn't burning just smoldering and it won't heat my house properly. On warm days say 40° it stays 74 in my house but nights like tonight, its 24° outside and my house won't stay a steady temp first it was 74 now its only 68 and still dropping. I went and bought a creosote log as thats what a neighbor told me to do, but I have a lot of wood in the boiler thats not burning down. Its as if its not got enough air flow because my blower constant stays on. Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated as its the only way I have to keep my boys warm.

You need to give us a lot more details before we can do much.

Is it actually a boiler that heats water or a hot air furnace?

Is it a hot water boiler or steam boiler?

Is this a indoor or outdoor boiler installation ?

What make and model is the boiler?

Is this a new installation?

Was this boiler running before satisfactorily for someone else but is new to you? Did you move into a new place and the boiler was there?

Is the boiler truly the only heating source?

If it's a new boiler to you where did the wood come from?

If its a new boiler to you has it and the associated stove pipe and chimney been cleaned and inspected by a qualified person?

Without any information the usual suspects are