Hi, my name is forby and I'm addicted to wood!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

forby

Oct 14, 2008
Northeastern PA
I hope that didn't come across wrong......

Actually, I'm a newbie to the forum and I thought I'd introduce myself with my story.

I've been thinking about a wood stove for a few years, but the local stores kept steering me away from wood and into pellets or coal(I'm in coal country). The overwhelming theory was that wood is hard to deal with and too much work. I always walked away dejected and went home to turn up the gas furnace for heat!!!

I finally decided to "pull the trigger" and bought a JØTUL F600 in July. The store asked "how much seasoned wood do you have".. I said none.. he said your crazy!

$6000 later, I have a stove, hearth and chimney. I was addicted from my first break-in fire.

Well I now have 3.5 cords that I bought cut and split and very well seasoned. I bought it in July so I paid about $130/cord. Since then, I acquired another 1.5 cords of standing dead(dry and very hard to split) that I cut and split along with another 3.5 cords of fresh cut that is now cut and split for next year.

I guess that these nay sayers don't know me well enough. I have an 8 cord lot of pole wood coming soon that I'm planning on cutting and splitting within the next 10 days or so.