Home battery backup systems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

SpaceBus

Minister of Fire
Nov 18, 2018
Downeast Maine
Moderator moved from Going Solar! thread to new thread for discussion :ZZZ

Total novice here, but I have a few questions. My water heater is rated at 18kw max and I'm trying to see if it were even possible to run it off of a battery bank. Does this means I should get at least an 18kw inverter for those times the water heater calls for max amperage (2 x 40 amp DP breakers on a 200 amp service box)?

Last edited by a moderator:
Total novice here, but I have a few questions. My water heater is rated at 18kw max and I'm trying to see if it were even possible to run it off of a battery bank. Does this means I should get at least an 18kw inverter for those times the water heater calls for max amperage (2 x 40 amp DP breakers on a 200 amp service box)?

1) Do you want to go shut off the water heater breakers every time you use the microwave? Of course not, so size the inverter to the total load it may need to supply. When you run the dryer, the boiler and the refrigerator may kick on without warning, etc. You can reduce this by planning to not use some circuits when off the grid (I shut off my electric dryer breaker so nobody tries to use it, and thus don't need to include it in my capacity planning).

2) 18kw is crazy for a DHW heater unless it's commercial (or some kind of tankless heater).
Is it a boiler that also does DHW?

Reactions: SpaceBus
On demand heater?