Home heating oil vs diesol vs off road diesol

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

johnsopi

Minister of Fire
Nov 1, 2006
MD near DE&PA;
Can you use offroad diesol/diesol fuel in your oil furnace? I heat with wood but could use a little more oil. The oil company have 100gal min delivery.

I'm no expert, but I would say yes.
I'm not clear if the ultra low sulfur fuel is now in offroad, I would think yes, but I have a feeling (but I'm totally not sure) if fuel oil is ultra low sulfur.
I don't think it makes a difference for a furnace though.

Yes
Its all the same stuff when speaking in terms of cetane ratings.

Off-road is the same as HHO. UNLESS you live in a climate where the supplier starts cutting in #1 diesel fuel to prevent cold weather gelling in engines.

I buy barrels of off-road #2 for my tractor and it comes from the same tank as the HHO. I know of many folks that have put a pump and nozzle on the HHO tanks to fill their tractors with.

Highbeam is correct, same stuff. KD

Two weeks ago my fuel dealer told me off road equipment now has to run the dyed red ultra low fuel. They can't deliver # 2 HHO to your off road site. The off road fuel now has to be less than 500ppm of sulfur content.

Ive been running the dyed ultra low for awhile now, so I'm used to it. But it does cost more. What else is new !

Hbbyloggr

That's true about the kerosene. I don't think heating oil is cut with that.
I would imagine if it works in a diesel, even with a little less efficiency, it'd work in an oil burner, but I'm not expert.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultra-low_sulfur_diesel