Hot Spot on Chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ved0303

Nov 23, 2018
Iowa
Hey all, I am new to wood burning. We had a Jotul F600 installed a week ago, has about 18 feet from the top of the stove to the top of the chimney. I noticed today that the chimney has a spot, about 6 inches below the chimney cap and about 8 inches in diameter, that looks like it got hot. It has that rainbow discoloration that you sometimes see when metal gets hot. Seems to be on the downwind side of the pipe. I climbed up on the roof and that spot is definitely hotter than the rest but not so hot that you can't touch it. Is this normal? If not, what could cause this? Thanks. I am definitely a newbie.

I've gotten that on every polished stainless class A chimney I've ever installed - 5 installs so far. It looks like the heat discoloration that you'd get on chromed header pipe, but it's not. It goes away every year during the off season. Nothing to worry about.

Is this new or old chimney pipe and is this on class A chimney pipe?

A picture here would help so that we see what you are seeing.

Creosote deposits on the leeward side where the smoke will swirl. Maybe?

Reactions: moresnow
This is quite normal in most cases . . . however I would hold off on trying to look for the pot of gold.

Reactions: XmasTreefarmer