How strict was your installer about hearth requirements/offsets?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Starclassic

Dec 8, 2021
Illinois, USA
Every stove comes with a set of measurements for distances from the unit to combustible materials. Obviously these are specified for a reason. I'm new to stoves — just wondering how everyone has handled their install.

Would a professional refuse to install a unit that didn't have the exact hearth/mantel specs? If I'm a couple inches shy of spec do I have to rebuild my hearth, remove part of my mantel, etc.?

If it doesn't meet code for CTC, it will not be installed.
The installing company is liable & if something is
missed, injuries or death can result.

Reactions: ManitobaSky
Every stove comes with a set of measurements for distances from the unit to combustible materials. Obviously these are specified for a reason. I'm new to stoves — just wondering how everyone has handled their install.

Would a professional refuse to install a unit that didn't have the exact hearth/mantel specs? If I'm a couple inches shy of spec do I have to rebuild my hearth, remove part of my mantel, etc.?
If they are willing to install a stove without meeting the required specs you don't want them working on your home

I have a new neighbor up the street from me, this is they're first winter up here, nice guy, and wonderful family, he bought a foreclosed house that was lightly remodeled or updated.