How the wood stove works?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

DragonSmoke

Jan 10, 2019
Upstate Ny
So, Ive been burning wood as a main heating source for 10 years (and through 2 different houses), and I'm STILL learning and adjusting the way I do things! lol For example this Year I've decided to split my would into bigger chunks instead of smaller ones or as I've tended to do, a mixture of small, medium, large, and rounds. (I still utilize rounds for good long overnight burns).
However, One thing that REALLY surprises (and confuses me) me is how the wood stove works! Its almost counter intuitive. Typically, One would think that a good rip-roaring fire is the best way to get the house nice and warm and get that stove nice and hot. BUT...in actuality, once you get that wood ignited well, you really wanna close that air supply down until that fire is just nicely, lazily rolling along and THEN that temperature sky rockets! Which is also really nice because you're practically sipping wood instead of flying through it.
My question is, why exactly is this? I know that its because the heat is staying in the stove instead of going up the chimney, but my question is WHY is it staying in the stove more that when the fire has more air to it? Is it simply because of a ratio? The fire with a little air has the air required for combustion but not an overload whereas a lot of air is more than combustion requires and therefor actually pushes the heat out of the stove so fast it doesn't have time to heat?? hmmm, I may have answered my own question but I'd still appreciate your feedback.

Last edited: