How to evaluate stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

cnapierala

Jan 21, 2024
Divide, CO
I have done a lot of reading regarding stove reviews but im having trouble understanding how to rank one stove vs the other.

Here are the 3 that im considering based on dealer availability etc.

MFGRModelMax Log lengthHeating spaceMax Output (BTU/HR)EfficiencyFirebox size (CU FT)Flue Size
KumaWood Classic LE18"2400 - 30008200079.4 HHV2.56"
RegencyF350020"1500 - 25008800076 HHV36"
LopiEndeavor II NexGen-Hybrid19.5200070,50080 hhv2.56"
LopiNexGen Liberty24"25006323970 HHV3.656
So im an engineer by trade and don't understand these numbers. How can a 3.65 cu/ft firebox with a 70hhv provide lower max btu than a 80HHV 2.5 cu/ft firebox.

So for instance if you took 1000 BTU x 80% x 2.5 vs 1000 BTU x 70% x 3.65 you come out quite a bit ahead on the 3.65cu/ft firebox.

Is my math bad or do i misunderstand? How can i best compare these?

For reference i have a 2000 sq foot area and live in Divide Colorado. We dont want to go on the light side of heat but really like the Lopi Liberty look and quality but not sure its enough heat.

Thank you,

Chris