How to extend brick hearth for Hearthstone Homestead Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bostonstove

Aug 18, 2018
Massachusetts
Hi Folks:

Stove newbie here. My wife and I are considering purchasing and installing a Hearthstone Homestead Stove into the fireplace in our family room.

Here's the catch. The fireplace opening is large enough so that the stove could sit entirely inside the fireplace. Ihe fireplace dimensions are roughly 36.5" wide x 29" tall x 24" deep. If we went this route, we wouldn't have to make any modifications to our hearth, mantle, etc.

However, I'd ideally like to be able to have at least the soapstone portion of the stove sit outside/in front of the fireplace as this will heat better (also the stove is very attractive and I think it will look nicer.)

The problem is, today we have a standard red clay brick hearth. There is currently 16" of hearth in front of our fireplace opening. The hearth height is the thickness of the brick hearth. There is hardwood flooring around the hearth and in the rest of the room.

If we pull the stove out of the fireplace I'm told I would have to "extend" my hearth by about 12-16" depending on how far we pull it out. I know we could purchase a tiled "hearth extender", but my wife isn't a fan of that as it looks cheap and won't match the rest of the fireplace.

The "best" solution would be to hire someone to cut out a portion of our hardwood and add in another 12-16" of brick in front of our stove. Is that correct? Are there other options, like a fire proof decorative rug or anything?