Im a nervous novice burner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Maj92az

Sep 26, 2020
N Idaho
As my grandpa use to call me, I'm a nervous norvis. Always worried about something, usually something new. I'm new to wood stoves. New install this week- I installed a Pacific Energy freestanding stove.

I get nervous that itll get too hot and over fire. Now first I must add I installed her great.. exceeded the wall clearances (5" corner min) to 8" and 12". A good hearth pad and double wall duravent and a ceiling support with all clearances plus a ceiling box all the way to the roof decking.

Anyways. What could go wrong? I mainly get my temps (cheap IF gun) under 450. The collar is usually a tad higher but usually I'll see 550 MAX on the whole thing. I get good coals after an hour- then I'll add say 1 or 2 split logs. I'll turn 02 down all the way and watch her burn. But still worry it could creep and run away. I picture myself using a pot holder chucking a burning log out the nearest window.

Any words of advice to calm me down during a burn.

Thx ;)

Congratulations. It's a good stove and not fragile. Give yourself time to get used to it. Do a full load on a cold day, in the morning so that you can watch the fire throughout the day and see how it burns. There is a thread at the top of this forum in the Stickies section - Starting a fire. It shows what a full load burn is like over time. Turn down the air as soon as possible and don't freak out if the stove top goes to 700º.