Inherited a Mt Vernon. What should I replace before using?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

cparts

Aug 7, 2017
Southwest Virginia
Hello,

I inherited a Mt Vernon pellet stove from my parents. I believe it to be a 2006ish model. I can get the exact year if it helps. I am new to pellet stoves. I saw it burn last year and it worked fine (as much as I know what fine looks like).

I suspect it probably didn't burn more than 10 tons its whole life. It know it has not burned more than a ton since 2009, if that.

My parents never had any trouble with it.

So I am going to put it into service.

Are there any parts I should "just go ahead and replace now?" If prudent, I'd rather just do it now than have the thing breaking down this winter. But if not, that is fine too.

At what point should the glass be cleaned vs replaced?
What about the door gaskets?

I will search for the basic maintenance stuff and follow that.

Thanks!

2006 could be Mt Vernon AE or non AE, totally different stoves and cleaning process. I'd give it a full cleaning per manual instructions, listen to motors when running to see if any are loud (potentially bad bearings), vacuum out dust bunnies from convection fan, maybe leaf blower trick on exhaust channel, check out gasket on door, purchase a spare 300 watt igniter, then install stove and enjoy the heat in the Fall.

It's a NON AE model.

Thanks for the reply.

Where is the leaf blower trick documented?

I have the basic manual thermostat that came with it. Should I hook up something else? Can I hook up a different Tstat? Any particular reason I want to?