Insert or possible free stand in corner setup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

brownclown

Sep 8, 2023
10512, NY
Hi . New and 1st post. I am very new to most of this but have been non stop reader for past few weeks so please forgive my ignorance. I am having some trouble finding my setup and how to go best about handling it. I was told prior to my purchase of the house there was an insert that was removed. I currently have an unsafe woodstove installed that I planned only only using for emergency and for most part have only used a handful of times when I installed about 10 years ago. I say "unsafe" because of how i rigged up flue. I am currently tired of paying for crazy oil costs and want to setup correctly. I have an open floor plan upstairs with a living space of about 1000sq ft with less then ideal insulation. My masonry chimney is odd. I can't find examples of similar setups so dont really know what direction to take. I am open to using an insert but would prefer to use a free standing (without legs) I would guess. Unless something better is remmended. I think i want something similar to what I already have but done correctly.