Is this stove safe?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wilson

May 11, 2006
http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_2053_2053

First post here and I'm new to wood stoves. I've been thinking of getting a stove for next winter and this pot belly stove really caught my eye. I like the old timey look. Coal is cheap here also. However after doing a search on this site I found a few threads that were not so kind fo Vogelzang. The problem seemed to be with the box stoves... they're not able to control the how hot the fire burns.....it just ran wide open untill it over heated and cracked apart. I had a chance to see this pot belly stove up close today at a local shop and it looked pretty well made and there are atleast 3 places on it to control the amount of air coming in.

The description says its made to hold 40# of coal for an 8 hour burn. That seems like a bold statement from the manufactor if there were any problems with the stove overheating.

I also found this in the Q n A part of the site:

https://www.hearth.com/search/art.php?rec=1130

Someone asking about buying a pot belly stove and the Vogelzang is recommended.

So if anyone has an opinion or has ever owned this stove I'd like to hear from you.

Thnaks

Volgelzangs are cheap imported cast iron stoves. They dont have any clean burn technology, they pollute, and they dont use fuel very efficiently. But what more do you want for a 350 dollar stove. They do work, they will heat, thats just a cheap imitation of a old potbelly. I think a old potbelly would be better quality.