JØTUL F 100 NORDIC QT Baffle Replacement / assembly manual

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

jimk0157

Jul 15, 2014
Indianapolis
Hello,

I have a Jotul F 100 Nordic wood stove that I've been using heavily for the past 4 years. The cast iron baffle that is directly exposed to the fire at the top of firebox seems to be deformed by all that heat over the years and now droops down into the firebox perhaps an inch or so lower than when new. I called the dealer and they are ordering me a replacement (under warranty). They claim I can just lift out the old one without disassembling anything else (it does sit loosely in a notch) to replace. That may have been true before it deformed, but now there does not seem to be enough play to remove it. I was wondering if anyone else has run into this issue and what might be an easy way to replace this is. I suppose I could take the stove apart but I can seem to find a assembly manual anywhere, only an exploded parts diagram, and this seems like a good way to kill a weekend if I'm winging it. The other thought I have is to try to cut old the old damper with a small side arm grinder to avoid disassembling.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jim K.

I haven't worked on the F100 but if it's like other Jotuls the top should come off for servicing. By the parts diagram it looks like it's gasketed and made to be removed. Not sure how it is secured though. If like the F3CB there will be an allen screw at the top edge of each side. If like the larger Jotuls there will be a couple bolts on the underside. @BrotherBart do you know?